News Flash

Community News

Posted on: May 6, 2021

The NE Johnson County Fourth of July Public Fireworks Display is Cancelled for 2021

pets 4th of july safety

Representatives from the City of Fairway, City of Roeland Park, City of Westwood, Bishop Miege High School and St. Agnes Parish recently met to discuss the 2021 Northeast Johnson County Fireworks Display. Due to the cooperative nature of the display, a unanimous decision is required for the event. Unfortunately, not all parties were ready to move forward and, as a result, the Northeast Johnson County Fireworks Display will not occur in 2021. All parties look forward to the fireworks display returning in 2022.

Enjoy the fourth of july holiday safely!

ONLY the following fireworks are allowed on July 3rd and July 4th between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 11:30 p.m. in the City of Roeland Park.
(a) Nonpoisonous snakes, smoke bombs and items of similar composition;
(b) Cone fountains and whistling fountains without report;
(c) Sparklers and dipped sticks;
(d) Firecrackers as defined by the Consumer Product Safety Commission, 10 C.F.R. § 1500.17(a)(8)  

"Report" - A report is another name for a bang. Items with reports explode with a bang. This term is most often used with rockets and cakes. 

ILLEGAL FIREWORKS - Illegal fireworks include any firecracker with more than 50 milligrams of flash powder, such as the original 1960's version of the M80, cherry bomb, silver salute, or quarter stick. Consumer fireworks also may not contain any chlorates, red phosphorus, high explosives, more than 130 milligrams of flash powder in an aerial report, or more than 500 grams of total composition. 

Bottle Rockets are PROHIBITED- A small rocket that is approximately the size of a standard firecracker, one and one-half inches long, with a thin stick attached to it that is approximately 12 inches in length. Bottle rockets can contain whistle effects and may contain a report (loud bang).



Facebook Twitter Email