Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
View a copy of the Rental License Agreement Packet (PDF).
According to City Code Section 5-703a, it shall be unlawful for the owner of a single family dwelling or duplex to rent such dwelling to any person for dwelling purposes without first obtaining a license. The procedure for the application and the issuance of the initial license shall be the procedure set forth in section 5-704 through section 5-707 of this article.
The initial license may be applied for at any time, but the date of expiration of the initial license shall be determined by the location of the single-family dwelling or duplex for which the license is required as set forth below.
The date of each year upon which a person is required to make application for and obtain a renewal license under the provisions of this article shall be determined by the location of the single-family dwelling or duplex for which the license is required, as follows:
If any rental property is offered for lease by an owner of property who is not a resident of Johnson County, Kansas, the owner shall designate a resident agent who resides in Johnson County, Kansas, who shall be responsible for the payment of all fees and penalties, receipt of notices and all other matters provided herein (Section 5-704, Municipal Code).
Is the property a short-term rental (Airbnb, VRBO, etc)?
All short-term rentals must follow the provisions as outlined in 5-704 of the City Municipal Code. Failure to comply may result in the City not issuing or revoking a rental license and issuing a $350 fine for every 30-day period in violation. This amount can be assed to your Johnson County property taxes.
I consent to the exterior inspection of the single/duplex family residence described above and the real estate upon which it is located at such reasonable times as may be necessary to carry out the provision of Article 7 of Chapter 5 of the Municipal Code.
Any notice provided for under the provision of Article 7 of Chapter 5 of the Municipal Code may be mailed to me at the address entered for the owner(s) of this application.
I declare under penalty of false statement (a felony in the State of Kansas) that, to the best of my knowledge and belief, the statements made herein are correct and true. I agree to notify the City Clerk of any change of address within 10 days of such change.
By checking the "I agree" box below, you agree and acknowledge that 1) your application will not be signed in the sense of a traditional paper document, 2) by signing in this alternate manner, you authorize your electronic signature to be valid and binding upon you to the same force and effect as a handwritten signature, and 3) you may still be required to provide a traditional signature at a later date.
This field is not part of the form submission.
* indicates a required field